Old 07-04-2016, 05:19 PM
  # 27 (permalink)  
Gottalife
12 Step Recovered Alcoholic

Hi C3,

Just to respond to your post above about other addictions and AA and SR etc. We are in the alcoholism forum. There will be some people here/in AA who know about other addictions but I am not one of them. When they get discussed in a meeting, you might as well be talking Chinese to me. I have had some addictions explained to me and I don't doubt their existence or how nasty they can be, but I have no experience of them.

The other thing to think about is the newcomer alcoholic who is at his first meeting wondering if he is in the right place. For his sake we better be talking about our common problem.

Originally Posted by Centered3 View Post
"Thanks, Mike. This was very helpful. I knew this, but then it makes me confused why sponsors in our group push us out of the nest once we no longer need help with amends? I still want guidance in living in the steps now and how to live along spiritual lines."

Yes there does seem to be a tendency for sponsors to quit at step nine. I teach the basics of ten eleven and twelve. You don't need a sponsor for this. Someone who has taken the steps that you can call once in a while, or talk to after a meeting is all that is required.

Look at step ten, watching out for dishonesty, fear, etc. when they crop up we ask God at once to remove them. We may need to discuss an issue, we may need to make amends. This is an issue by issue deal, as they crop up in life. It does not require someone who knows your whole life story.

Step eleven, planning the day, assessing the day, seeking God's will. Test for God's will, is it pure? Is it loving? Is it unselfish? Is it honest?. And if still uncertain about God's will, have a talk to someone, even out side of AA. Doesn't need to be a sponsor.