View Single Post
Old 04-22-2016, 02:00 PM
  # 26 (permalink)  
fantail
now's the time

I'm a newbie compared to you! I don't even have a year yet, I'm at 9 months. Last time I got to 8 months and then relapsed. So it's hard to know whether I'm doing this right. I just have forced myself through it out of necessity. I'm single, so if I were to stop going to events that have alcohol, I'd be isolating myself pretty heavily. I've met sober people my age through AA, but a lot of them are in different places in their lives with serious relationships and/or kids.

There are certain things I don't do much anymore. I almost never just go to a bar, for example. Anything where the main focus is sitting in a room and drinking, I avoid. But luckily my friends tend to be more activity and drinks people. So I'll go to an event where alcohol is served but there's also music or a lecture, or a party where people are drinking but also playing games, or a camping trip where we hike and then some people have drinks afterwards. I'm also lucky that the social groups I end up in are often balanced, with some people drinking and others not. I recently moved to my current city and I definitely have chosen my friends based on whether they like to do things or just hang out and drink.