Thread: GF is an addict
View Single Post
Old 02-29-2012, 03:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
stickywater

GF is an addict

Hi everyone. I am new to the forum and i just would like to post a thread of the current situation that I am in. I am fairly new to the disease of addiction. My girlfriend, who i have a 15 month old son with, has an addiction to heroin...and more recently coke as well. She has 4 girls from a previous marriage and i have a son and saughter from a previous marriage as well. She confessed to me when she was at 17 months pregnant with our son, that she had been taking pain pills(opiates) for the last 3 years. She got on subutex shortly after she told me this and other than a rough pregnancy and being born premature, our son was ok. We broke up pretty much right after he was born, but tried to reamin civil with eachother. I learned over this past summer that she was pregnant again, and she said it was mine. Although it was a possibility, it was very hard for me to believe anything she said anymore(there had been many lies and unbelieveable stories after we split up). She ended up having a miscarriage back in October(about 20 weeks along)...she told me that she felt as if she was down to a low enough dose of subutex that she could quit cold turkey. Of course she got sick, and started w/d. This is why she thinks she miscarried, and most likely is the reason. I didn't learn until a month later that after that miscarriage, she had started using IV heroin. She was using about .15 grams every 3 hours...so 2-3 grams a day. and she only is 115 lbs. Sparing you all the drama and detail, I told her I could not let her take my son anymore and we both had hired attorneys. She would take our son and her girls with to buy drugs, and obviously she was driving while under the influence...although she stated that she is fine and just uses not to get sick, to maintain. Well I have done a lot of research on addiction, and had an awesome councellor from last May thru October.