Thread: Blindsided
View Single Post
Old 11-13-2010, 06:08 PM
  # 17 (permalink)  
SarahG

Originally Posted by Pelican View Post
I didn't arrive in that mess overnight. I didn't extract myself from that mess instantly. I had to start taking baby steps.

It is tricky seperating finances that were once combined. It can be done.

I recommend letting him be responsible for his finances, but protecting your family budget from relapses. example: if he over spends - he allowance is affected not the family grocery budget.
There is no his money/our money. It's all our money. He works and I'm a student/SAHM. I am entirely dependent on him, financially. What I have done is
-take all the cards (there are only 3: my debit card, his debit card, one credit card)
- use the envelope system, a la Dave Ramsey, for expenses (and I know how much is in each, so I can track if any is missing)
- given him an allowance ($20/month, since it's all we can afford)

Honestly, he has no finances. I've taken over everything. (That I know of, and that's the kicker.) We have to have a joint checking account. He's the one with a job, and for his paycheck to be direct deposited, he has to be an account holder. I hate that, but it is what it is. I just keep tabs online of any banking activity. This isn't about being a codie, this is about making sure I have a house to live in and food for the kids. I see these steps as protecting myself. (And I welcome any input you all have about this, if you think there's a better way to handle the family finances.)