View Single Post
Old 10-20-2010, 10:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
trickytiger

Anyone want to read a novel? New poster

My story:
I was involved in a LDR relationship for 1.5 years – he travels for work, and I’m a graduate student in my second career, and we’d been able to spend one week a month together. For the last year, it’d been dysfunctional enough to make me unhappy. He’d pick fights at night over random, innocuous things, and I could never figure out the triggers. This would always be followed by a sweeping apology and some sort of grand gesture plus promises “never to do it again”. Add to that a liberal sprinkling of broken promises and everpresent excuses, and this relationship was following a sadly predictable pattern in my life. All the danger signs and red flags were there in the beginning, but I could not or would not heed them. After exiting yet another relationship with an emotionally unavailable man, P’s statements of love and promises of what our life would be were exactly what I wanted to hear. So what if he fell in love instantaneously? So what if this is exactly what happened when he started dating his ex-fiance? Of course SHE was the crazy one! Of course he didn’t have a drinking problem! So what if all his friends were heavy drinkers? He was athletic: a mountain climber, runner, biker- this man lived for the outdoors and I thought this meant he took care of his health.