View Single Post
Old 10-24-2009, 11:47 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
mmeat

Hey there guys....

Hi everyone. Somewhat new here....been lurking for the last 3 or 4 weeks, reading almost everyday on the Alchoholism and newcomers threads.
I'm so glad to see that there are people like me out there!!! I'm still drinking, but seeing all the posts is strengthening my resolve to stop. A little history for me is that I"m 32 and have an alcoholic father that has not drank in 10 years. On moms side is alot of alcoholism as well.
I have been drinking steadily for at least 15 years now, and lately it seems to be getting worse and worse. I don't know what the hell it is with alcohol, but I have no control over it. I crave it. There is a freaking voice in my head that screams at me all day long how good it will be once I get a few " rockets" into me.....
I have 3 amazing kids....all under 9 yrs old....and every Saturday my wife goes to work early, and I have to take care of them all day. The only problem is that for some screwed up reason, when Friday hits...I have this massive urge to hit the beer store, and grab an 8 or 12 pack of strong beer and then proceed to get drunk. Usually while watching a family movie with the kids. Then after they go to bed, I finish every last beer until I'm drunk and stupid.....hit the bed, and then wake up feeling crappy.
So of course for the rest of the next day, I'm cranky and short tempered and wish I was a better father. I try my best though........