Thread: p
View Single Post
Old 09-24-2009, 09:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
rjmano

p

utting rjmano back together again..

Hi all, I've been hanging around this site now for about 6 months. I'm 33 years old, male, and have been drinking continuously since I was 16ish. Played all sorts of sports when I was younger; hockey, golf, soccer, baseball, etc., generally excelled when I wanted to. In all, I had a happy childhood so nothing to complain about there.

Went to college, got good marks when I decided to try, and landed excellent jobs. Everything seemed to be going great until about 6 years ago until I went back to college for a second degree. Started drinking more and more and more. At first, 6-10 beers at night, 4-6 days a week. Some nights quite a bit more. I remember waking up some mornings and counting 18-20 beer cans - this scared me because I didn't realize that I could drink so much. Anyways, this continued for years. I knew I had a problem at that time but wasn't suffering major consequences. I became more withdrawn, lost interest in everthing, my dreams evaporated and my relationships began to crumble. Like I said, I knew alcohol was a problem, but I didn't see the connection to my personality/lifestlye changes and excessive drinking.