Old 11-03-2008, 06:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
achanceonu

Thank you for welcoming me. My story may provide some inspiration to someone new!!

Hello All

Firstly I want to thank everyone for their warm welcome here and on the other forums. I have been surfing this site for about 5 years, but it has taken me this long with a countless number of relapses to "get it". I currently have 116 days sober and I love it.

But it certainly wasn't easy, and it meant that I was willing to go through any lengths to get sober. After my ex and my family took custody of my children from me (um, while I was passed out in my bed. Didn't even go to court), I admitted myself into a 5 day detox. Knowing that you can physically die from withdrawel from alcohol, I needed to be medically detoxed. From there, I went to a 28 day inpatient woman's treatment program. The first week or so was horrendous. I was a crumbled mess in the corner, feeling so sorry for myself and still trying to control things on the outside. I was blessed to be roomed with a wonderful woman that helped me to forgive my HP whom for me is God. Since praying every morning and every night, that huge weight was lifted off my shoulders. I can remember the morning I finally woke up feeling "free". I learned to let go, surrender, and allow my HP to help me.

The second 2 1/2 weeks of the treatment center, I worked very hard. See they basically break you right down to the floor and build you back up again. On my way back up, I learned so much; about my disease, about myself, new coping skills, how to prevent another relapse; essentially how to live again!!

Once I got out, I admitted myself into an 8 week intensive outpatient program where I strived to learn even more. All the while attending AA meetings, reconnecting with a network to sober support, starting a new job that is flexible enough to allow me to put my recovery first.