Thread: The "Hot Seat"
View Single Post
Old 07-09-2008, 09:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
MrRommel

The "Hot Seat"

Hello Everyone,

This isn't my first time here, but it's my first time writing a post.

Anyway, wanted to share with you a short version of a hellish AA 'intervention.' But first, a little background about myself. I'm an atheist, and as such, I didn't really feel that included in the whole AA thing. I went there for about three months before getting enough of a backbone to admit to my sponsor that I really didn't enjoy it very much on account of the overt preaching that went on there.

Anyway, I drank again and I got into trouble because my parents flipped out when they saw me drunk, and they called both the police and one of the guys I met in AA. Given my personality temperment, I'm not good with police officers, sober or not. I don't like them, and they know it; they don't like me for the most part. Adding to that was the fact that I was pissed off, both because I started getting pissed back at my parents when they knew I had been drinking, and also because I was pissed off at myself for drinking again.

The cops came, and I got into a real big argument with them, my parents, etc. The dude from AA came and offered to let me cool down at his place (which was really a good idea at the time). All in all, I'm grateful for this, but he also took it into consideration that now was the best time to shove religious nonsense down my mouth whilst I was incapacitated mentally.

It says in the AA Big Book that you should talk to new 'converts' when they're just coming off of a heavy binge; when they're shaky and most malleable. I really detest this sort of crap, due to it being very analogous to brainwashing. Anyway, he gave me a sermon about this god crap and I had to listen to it for a couple hours. When that was done, I got to go home, and we set out a date for another 'meeting.' Little did I know what I was walking into.