Go Back   SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Special-Interest Groups > Women In Recovery
Forgot Password? Join Us!
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read Chat Room [3]

Welcome to the Sober Recovery Community

Already registered? Login above ---^
OR
To take advantage of all Posting, Chatting, Gaming, and all the features available at SoberRecovery, join the over 100,000 current members, and become a member of our supportive community today! Ads will no longer appear on the forums, once you register.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2012, 08:50 AM   #1 (permalink)

Physical differences when stopping drinking

Hello everyone

I'm new to this, on day 8 and just discovered this forum-have been on the alcoholism one since joining.

I was hoping someone would be able to advise me on if I will start to physically look better reasonably soon after stopping drinking, namely weight loss and broken veins/redness in the face. I have noticed the bloating seems to have reduced.

I am 37, 12.5 stone and have been drinking 1-2 bottles of wine a day every day for many years and can really see the effects of it but wondered if it would reverse. thank you
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 01-10-2012, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)

One of the first things I noticed was that the "bloat" in my face (puffiness under the eyes, in the cheeks, etc) went away. I had sallow coloring, and that went as well.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
The Following User Says Thank You to wellwisher For This Useful Post:
justhadenough (01-10-2012)
Old 01-10-2012, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
~sb

By 30-60 days I was given many compliments on how healthy I looked, some were from random strangers!!

All Big Book quotes are from the first edition.
Linked with the permission of Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, Inc.