The most honest, soul searching ...

Old 11-24-2014, 11:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Redmayne

The most honest, soul searching ...

This is probably the most honest, soul searching post I've ever posted,albeit that all are written from the heart.

In my well over 6 years of recovery, all my dreams have been dysfunctional, disjointed experiences, leaving me, when I woke up thinking I'd got a head full of broken mirrors.

Last night was different. I dreamt I was at an ordinary suburban party where I met a woman. Mature, 45+, I'm not good at guessing ages these days, attractive, hair tied back, dressed as if she'd just called in on her way home from the office. Which in fact, it turned out she had.With a very obvious warm, affectionate personality.

I know that whatever scent she was wearing was patchouli based, because it lingered in my senses long after I woke up!

After being introduced, when there was a hint of resonance between us, we mingled. After which I took a seat in a vacant armchair, she came over and just naturally sat in my lap in a manner that left us both knowing in our hearts that nothing further need be said. Indicating that we'd, from now on never be apart, ever.

I'm told that the best relationships happen when you ask yourself,'Does this person make me happy, in simply being themselves' Equally so, they should ask themselves that of you, if the answers ,'Yes', by both parties, you have at least the basis for unconditional love between the two of you. This had surely , in my dream, just taken place.

Now those of you who have known love, particularly unconditional love and still have it, may scoff at this, please feel free to do so.

But for an aging (I'm 68) ex-drunk like me, who's spent a lifetime, even before my alcoholism took a grip on me who grew up with those traits commonly found in mostly alcoholics, fear, guilt, self loathing, low self esteem, it's not exactly something I'm to familiar with.