Notices

Day 3 and Methadone Free

Old 03-19-2006, 08:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 3 and Methadone Free

Hey everyone,
I guess I can start with some background. I have been abusing drugs for 13 years. I started using opiates recreationally 10 years ago. Well when OC's hit the street around my way back in '98, none of us (my group of friends) really knew what they were, and the fanfare surrounding their rampant abuse hadn't really begun yet. Needless to say I found myself physically dependent on opiates a few months after popping my first '40. After a couple years, the natural progression to herion ensued, and like most, I was using enough to kill a dozen non-heroin users everyday, and selling while living in my parents home to support my habit. I went through a couple rehab stints, but finally in '01 kicked CT, got a job far away and moved and soon as I was well enough. After about a year I found what I was craving in the new land, and, long story short, hooked up with someone that was prescribed to methadone for pain but didn't take it. I made the switch, started at 40mgs a day and worked up to about 90mgs a day within a few months. The last year I tapered back down, getting as low as 10mgs/20mgs a day, but just couldn't get that last push. I had since moved again, have a great job, nice place, blah, blah, blah, but the inevitable realization of how empty my life really is set in a couple months ago. So on Friday I made my way to a doctor from the suboxone web sight, showed up detoxing in hopes of starting it right away, and I did. My third day without methadone is about to end, and I am really suprised at how well this medication works. I know a lot of people say methadone doesn't get you "high", but for me it came pretty darn close. I could literally fart into the same couch cushion from Friday night until Monday morning and not care on methadone. On the suboxone, I feel more energetic, less depressed, and overall just better. So far, I am happy about my decisi