Notices

Quitting oxycodone

Old 10-26-2008, 03:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Quitting oxycodone

I posted in another part of this site a few days ago. I think my posts belong here :/

I've been using on and off for almost 9 years. This last stretch was a year with percocet. I quit because the side effects were becoming awful for the last 2 months of using. I spoke to a drug counselor and he said I was taking them wrong. So I was taking them, then withdrawing 6 hours later.

I'm 24 days off the pills today. I'm still having mild withdrawals. They started as waves every 7 hours or so, then a couple days ago they just came in slightly less strong, but non stop. A dull dry feeling in my sinuses and upper lungs, on and off dry mouth. A few strong sneezes once in awhile. Still have some insomnia. Usually get a couple hours of light sleep.

My withdrawal symptoms seem different from everyone else's, just from reading here on SR. I am hoping I have not caused some irreversible damage to myself. I saw my doctor and finally told him about my addiction. He told me not likely permanent damage, just to expect a slower recovery because I have used for so long. I am not taking anything but a couple of Tylenol caplets, which practically do nothing. I always drank beer socially, 2 or 3 pints at most, but I don't want to drink while I'm going through this. I really want to clean out my system. But this sobriety thing blows. The pills are gone, whole bottle flushed on the 3rd. I honestly do not ever want to use opiates again. I know it's sounds cliche, but I cant express more how bad I want to get away from this.

On top of the physical part, I seem to be turning inward, displaced, wondering why I am alive. No interest in anything.

I can clearly see what the pills did for me, I feel like I am missing a limb.
Old 10-26-2008, 10:01 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Try, try, try again!