Notices

Suboxone for life?

Old 02-15-2015, 07:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Suboxone for life?

Hi everyone,

First time posting in this forum. Thanks for sharing your experiences and insights.

My question: is staying on suboxone for life a realistic option?

I ask because my boyfriend used heroin for 1.5 months over the summer. That was 5 months ago now, and now he's on suboxone and working with a therapist. Before the heroin use, his only period of addiction was 4 months hooked on prescription pain killers in 2013. He did a year of suboxone maintenance after that.

I am terrified of the impact that relapses could have on his life and mind, and I can't help but wonder: why shouldn't he just stay on suboxone for life? Do you think of that as a viable option?

Thanks,

110Blue
Old 02-15-2015, 10:17 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum 110Blue!!

I've no personal experience with suboxone, but I'm sure there will be a few behind me with some advice, I just wanted to say hello!!
Old 02-15-2015, 01:53 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks, PurpleKnight!
Old 02-15-2015, 03:46 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

110blue - suboxone is relatively new when it comes to maintenance treatment. Given that, I am not sure that they have solid research on the long, long-term effects of suboxone. Different doctors that I have been to have given me various opinions on this topic. Some doctors have be adamant that it is only to be used for maintenance over a relatively short time (6 months). The ones that only wanted to use it for say 6 months gave me philosophical reasons as opposed to medical explanations. For those doctors it was a tool that gave a period of stability that was to be used to build a support system and to get one's life in order.