My Story/johnwroweiv

Old 10-07-2016, 09:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Your life is your story. Write well. Edit Often.

My Story/johnwroweiv

My experience as a child is that everyone else got a handbook. Some rule book that I didn't get.

I always felt broken. Ugly. Like an outsider.

I learned from a very young age that my body wasn't mine. That it was to be used by adults whenever they wanted. And I wasn't to tell anyone. I was to be ashamed. In fact - it was that trauma that took me outside my body. I always felt like I was outside my body looking down on me and my surroundings. Like I was the camera filming my life. I now know this is a response to trauma. Its how a childs' mind copes with trauma. The other way I coped with trauma was by crying and eating. Lots of crying. Lots of binge eating. Lots of weight gain. Lots of teasing. No rest.

By age 21 I was body obsessed. I was a student at UCLA. Working out like a mad man to burn off the calories i would secretly binge on while working at Ackerman Union. I soon started performing as a go-go boy in West Hollywood. So sadly cliche. So sadly true. The first night I "danced" i was terrified. The bartender offered me a 151 and coke to "get my nerve up." It worked WONDERS. I was a totally different person. I immediately associated drinking with work and making lots and lots of cash. It was a life lesson that would continue for 22 years.

I moved on from dancing and became a "real professional". I started to gain weight because I wasn't working out and dancing. A friend introduced me to cocaine. "What a miracle!" I thought to myself. What a nightmare.