Notices

First post--Day 1

Old 11-23-2014, 11:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First post--Day 1

This is my first time posting. After a hellacious weekend involving drinking that was preceded by a good year of nightly drinking to the tune of 1/2 a fifth a night, I've had enough.

Today I have felt awful--shakes, nausea, night sweats and currently insomnia. I've read about all of these things and have considered tapering to ease the symptoms but I honestly feel so sick to my stomach I can't even entertain the idea.

Does it get better? It feels so hard to see past today and how awful I feel...
Old 11-23-2014, 11:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

It certainly gets better than day one bythebeach

if you feel concerned at al, do see your Dr, but by and large things will get better a day or two....that's the danger time when we might thinking of drinking again. That's why it's good to have these posts to refer to.

Glad you found us

D
Old 11-23-2014, 11:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks, Dee74.

I currently don't have insurance or any funds to see a doctor so unfortuantely that's not an option. I just hope it passes quickly. I'm scared for tomorrow...

Glad I found you guys as well.
Old 11-23-2014, 11:16 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hey bythebeach,

I think quitting is a really brave thing to do, so well done :=] Yeah, like Dee says, it definitely gets better, I totally promise. I've been sober for 8 days now so it's pretty fresh- the first three days were definitely the worst.

All I can really suggest is bite the bullet and do it. This feeling isn't going to last forever, in fact, in the scheme of things it's not going to last very long at all. Eat and drink (water!) as much as you can. Hang in there and take care.
Old 11-23-2014, 11:19 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hey andyroo72,

Thank you for the kind words. Day 3 is what is worrying me the most. I return to work that day and don't want to be a sweaty, shaky wreck.