SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Self concious and judgemental (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/288344-self-concious-judgemental.html)

Garden Girl 03-21-2013 10:26 PM

Self concious and judgemental

I can't shake this problem. It is a problem. I had gone on vacation with the boyfriend to visit his parents and where he grew up. This is my first time on a vacation since I have stopped drinking. It was hard having one on one time with the parents, I was so afraid of making a good impression, I ended up fumbling over my words and sweating a lot... Literally. The hardest part was meeting his friends. In our relationship, we have made our friends, and everything is familiar to me... Stepping into his past, and where he came from was not familiar, and uncomfortable. I found upon the 2nd meeting of his friends was better for the most part. It's easy for me to automatically look at everything that I do not possess and how great everyone else is. Anyone

Garden Girl 03-21-2013 10:28 PM

Anyways to work through these situations or exercises that may be helpful?

Grymt 03-21-2013 10:37 PM

I don't know. I suppose don't look for perfection and be aware of your breathing. Take a stroll around the place. Have a few light nibbles like some nuts and raisins to hand and keep being there because it gets easier?

Coldfusion 03-21-2013 10:39 PM

Karissaleigh, I'm not sure what you're asking...

If you didn't drink before, during, or after these difficult situations, that's considered a major success around here!

instant 03-22-2013 12:27 AM

Working on accepting experiences unconditionally with an open heart takes time. Don't be to hard on yourself. I am trying to train myself to focus on the positives and understand my fears