Notices

What can I expect from psychiatrist?

Old 09-26-2006, 11:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What can I expect from psychiatrist?

Hi all,
I just found this site and think its great. I'm a newbie. I have been seeing a psychologist for depression/anxiety disorder and she recently referred me to a psychiatrist for possible medication, since therapy alone doesn't seem to be working.

Having never seen a psychiatrist, what can I expect from him? My appointment is next week. How do they diagnose? Are there blood tests?

Also, assuming he will recommend meds (actually, I hope he does, because I've suffered from severe depression for most of my life and chose to live with it vs. admitting it and getting help), how long before I notice that I am coming out of the fog of depression? I have on several occasions tried to self medicate with alcohol and hope that the meds will be effective enough to take away my desire to do that.

Thanks for any advice.

-CheeChee
Old 09-26-2006, 11:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

hi,

i have a very similar situation, went a very long time ignoring depression/anxiety and self medicated with drugs/alcohol.. i finally decided to get sober and see a therapist who recommended me to a psych.

i went to my first psych visit last week, and this is how it went. it was about an hour and a half, and she first asked me a ton of questions but would not let me talk about the present at first, only past... then when she got enough info on past, she let me talk about present and what brought me there etc.

then i filled out some questionaires etc, and she looked at them, and asked a few questions about some of my answers. then she gave me a starter pack of zoloft and perscribed me with something else.

i think you're only supposed to go back to the psych every couple months or so for med management, but she wants me back every week at first until we get the type/dosage etc right.

it's not so bad, and it's good that you're getting the help you need~!