My sister is truly in denial!

Old 03-19-2017, 08:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy My sister is truly in denial!

Hello, I am new to threads, posts or blogs. First one ever. Usually I would just keep everything inside about my dysfunctional family and try to live on with my life without telling a soul but now it has become so unbearable to witness my sister's constant excuses for her every action. She is bipolar, 29 and hasn't taken any bipolar medicine since she was 16. Thanks to my father's constant denial state, she has gotten away with every irresponsible decision she's ever made in her life with absolutely no consequences. She has never had a job and had slept all day and is up all night ever since she was around 20. Over two years or so ago she got into an altercation with someone who had broken her wrist. She sued for alot of money and when she eventually received it blew it all on prescription drugs from the street like Percocet and Vicodin. That's where her pain medication abuse was finally noticed by my family even though I knew for a long time she had a huge problem. Now skip forward a few years and she is prescribed anti-anxiety meds, sleep meds, and pain meds. She takes over 3x's the recommended dose of each. She has a slipped disc from a minor car accident from when she was 17 or so she says. She constantly complains about pains all over her body and has an excuse for everything going on in her life. She has two children and sometimes drives with them while under all these meds and has an ACS case for a car accident she was involved in with her older child. I have witnessed as she has spiralled down over and over again and it's making me so frustrated, upset and worried that she has taken on this new "normalcy" of a life. I wish her licence would get revoked. I wish ACS would do more to encourage her to ween off these meds, and I wish my father wasn't in such denial about the whole thing. He is the biggest excuse maker of all time. She is heading tow