How to deal with Meth-addicted father

Old 01-15-2017, 08:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How to deal with Meth-addicted father

Hi,
This is my first time posting and I'm not sure exactly what to write, but if you could offer advice or if anyone has had a similar experience, I would appreciate hearing about it.

My story starts half a year ago when I first found out that my dad was addicted to methamphetamine. I was listening to my parents fight at night and I didn't know exactly what they were talking about. When I pestered my mom about it later, she eventually told me about the situation. It came as a complete shock as up until then I had thought my dad was a great father, despite his shortcomings. I eventually realized that the addiction had started much earlier (as in at least a year earlier) but I am naive and did not realize until a few months ago. It started off with fights between my parents at night, but it quickly escalated out of control.

When he was using, my dad would stay awake the whole night working on "home improvements" that awoke the whole house and our neighbors. He spent money like crazy but surprisingly did not lose his job, which would have been devastating as he is the major breadwinner of the household. He would leave for days and would pretend like there was nothing wrong, avoiding the subject when my mom tried to talk about it.

The hardest part of the situation for me was dealing with my mom. She has always been like my rock, never wavering in tough situations. Since his addiction, she cries a lot although she is really trying to be brave about the whole situation. It has been really hard for me to see my role model reduced to this. I try to be considerate with her, but I don't know how to react when she breaks down.