Need insight

Old 04-23-2014, 11:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need insight

I'm very new to this. The Al Anon way of detaching. My AW has been home from rehab 13 days and has relapsed twice. She is laying here next to me passed out. She told me she was going to drink tonight and opened a bottle of wine right in front of me and proceeded to finish it off. I didn't get angry I told her I felt confused because I really did not know what to do. I stayed out of her drinking, I figured at least she was not out driving like she did before. She never got angry or verbally abudive like she did when I used to try and control her. we talked some about our feelings and some goals. Nothing deep I tried to stay quiet and shallow considering she was drinking. I just don't know what my options are. Do I sit and keep watching this happen and do nothing except take care of me, or is there an Al Anon technique in seedling with the relapsed spouse. Any suggestions welcome
Old 04-23-2014, 11:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I think you are doing just fine for not getting angry or personal. You didn't cause it, you can't control it or you can't cure it.
Old 04-24-2014, 12:12 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Dunwith,

Speaking from the alcoholics perspective, 2x in 2 weeks is obviously not a good situation - drinking typically leads back (and beyond) where we left off very quickly. The fact that she announced her intentions would be described in an AA meeting that "she's not done yet" - meaning until she is convinced she must stop drinking forever - there is nothing you or anybody can do to help.

Is she doing anything in terms of working a program? IOP, Therapist, AA or some other program? Is her rehab facility still in the picture in any way, and if so are they aware? The reality is most alcoholics are incapable of staying sober in the early days without daily effort and outside help.
Old 04-24-2014, 04:50 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by gabriel01 View Post