Double winners

Old 10-23-2003, 10:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Double winners

Hi, my name is Deb and I'm new to Al-Anon, a little over a month, and I'm wondering about 'double winners'. I'm in a rural area and there are only two Al-Anon meetings a week. Recently, a group of double winners have taken over both meetings and straight Al-Anons are beginning to drop out. I realize we can't turn anyone away, but we are losing some hurting people. Can anyone provide feedback on this? I'd really appreciate it.
Old 10-24-2003, 12:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Vampgirl

One of the meetings that I used to go to was a double winner meeting and I loved it,but the difference was that since I was in LA,there were tons of meetings to choose from and it sounds like you might not have this choice.
The meeting that I went to was NOT in the al-anon directory because they are not sanctioned(or were'nt at the time),by al-anon...Al-anon meetings are meant to keep the focus on al-anon issues and no identification with other programs is supposed to happen during meetings.
I would have a word with the secretary about being stricter about reminding people of this rule if people identify with other programs(any ofther programs,not just AA),during their shares.
One of my sponsors is a double winner and he's one of the people that I respect more than anyone else,but he is very careful to only identify from the al-anon point of view when sharing in al-anon meetings,
Good luck,I hope it all works out for you,Vampy

Old 10-24-2003, 03:20 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
I used to work here ;)

Hi Deb

Welcome to the forums. Maybe you could talk to the people that are dropping out and perhaps start your own meeting. I know you shouldn't have to do this but if so many people need help an extra meeting couldn't hurt in your area. They probably have information on the official al-anon website.

Good luck!
Debbie
Old 10-24-2003, 07:12 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
{tap}{tap}...Is this thing on?