Notices

Valerian Root

Old 03-07-2006, 07:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Valerian Root

Valerian is a powerful nervine, stimulant, carminative and antispasmodic.
It has a remarkable influence on the cerebro-spinal system, and is used as a sedative to the higher nerve centres in conditions ofnervous unrest, St. Vitus's dance, hypochrondriasis, neuralgic pains and the like.

The drug allays pain and promotes sleep. It is of especial use and benefit to those suffering from nervous overstrain, as it possesses none of the after-effects produced by narcotics.

I never wanted to take prescription drugs because of the many side effects that most have. I have been using Valerian Root for several months now to keep my anxiety under control.
It has worked incredibly well for me. Depending on what brand you get and where you buy it at, the price can vary, but a bottle will usually cost me around $10 and last for a couple of months.

I just thought I would share this with those of you who are not into taking prescriptions to treat your anxiety.

Has anyone else tried this and had this work for them also?
Old 03-07-2006, 02:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
On The Bus

Yes

I have tried it, and found to have pretty good results. I may try it again in the future. I detected an unpleasant odor when first opening the bottle, but in time became accustomed to the peculiar fragrance.

Overall, I would say it had a calming effect on me. Wonder why I stopped?
Old 03-08-2006, 01:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I use it in herbal tea, but I don't think enough is in it to affect me.

I am fearful of using this along with the antidepressants I am on currently. I would love to stop the RX antidepressants but am reluctant to do so....
Old 03-08-2006, 02:45 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Valerian is WONDERFUL and absolutely natural and all good. Glad it works for you. hugs, milla
Old 03-08-2006, 03:29 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Wolf,