Notices

I Just Want To Share Where I'm At Today

Old 01-17-2006, 10:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Recovering Addict

I Just Want To Share Where I'm At Today

I just want to share where I'm at today. I got out of treatment on 12/27/05, and today I have 66 days clean. I have been going to meetings daily. I have a sponsor, and I have started to do the work that recovery entails. I try to remain vigilant. I do not associate with anyone who uses. I stay away from places where using is happening, and I avoid the things that I associated with my active days (i.e. triggers). I want to stay clean and I am doing it one day at a time.

However, what is troubling me now is that I am not working. I am an electrician by trade. I completed Electrical School last summer and I am qualified to work in the field. After treatment I started trying to re-enter into my field again. I have not found a job yet. It is not for lack of trying. I have been looking through the papers, going over the on line job sites, and even cold calling. I have not landed a job yet. I am truly frustrated. I am a married man. My wife is supportive of my recovery and that is a blessing. She is the one handling everything right now. I do not like being without a job and this weighs heavily on my mind constantly. She encourages me daily. But, this does not make me feel any better. I want to be working again. My tools are just sitting in my living room collecting dust.