New to RR...

Old 01-15-2017, 01:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to RR...

Hello! I am new to AVRT and after two years of being programmed to think from an AA point of view. I'm trying to realign my thinking but I'm getting stuck a few places.

I am spiritual and I'm not leaving AA because of that. I know AA provided a way to develop spiritually and develop ,y character every day and I'm confused on if I should be continuing this. I continually ask god to give me strength to fix my selfishness, give me strength to be kind, etc. but AVRT tells me that I have the power to do so myself. Any thoughts? Does that even make sense? Lol.

How does RR coexist with spirituality?

Btw, day 5 and I am passed my 3-4 day relapse curse, so I think this emthod id showing early promise! I'm excited.
Old 01-15-2017, 02:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Location: "I'm not lost for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost ..."
Originally Posted by Deereynolds
I continually ask god to give me strength to fix my selfishness, give me strength to be kind, etc. but AVRT tells me that I have the power to do so myself.
AVRT tells you you have the power to end your addiction. AVRT is not concerned with a design for living. This method assumes you are smart enough and capable enough to 1) end your addiction 2) forge whatever path you wish in life once you end your addiction. If that means asking God to help you with your selfishness/compassion/etc, then that is your chosen path. That has nothing to do with ending your addiction though.

RR doesn't co-exist with spirituality. RR is strictly a means for ending your addiction to substances. Many spiritual/religious people use a secular method to end their addictions. RR is not telling you not to be spiritual or religious, it's telling you not to have spirituality or religion as a contingency to your abstinence.
Old 01-15-2017, 02:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Deereynolds View Post