firstymer/My Story

Old 08-29-2014, 02:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

firstymer/My Story

(This is a duplicate of a thread that I first posted August 27, 2014, in the Newcomers to Recovery forum)

I have been an alcoholic for 20 years. I am now one year sober. I have never been to AA. Instead, I have relied primarily on you wonderful, smart, supportive people here at SR as my main support system.

I am not an expert on alcoholism or alcohol treatment. I have only my personal experience to draw upon. So I don't have a formula for success to offer. I still struggle to stay sober, just like I did when I was at Day 1, or Day 51. But I struggle a little less each day.

What I do have are a few random thoughts. Take from them what you will.

1. If I can get sober after 20 years of drinking 8-10 drinks, or more, at least 5 or 6 nights per week, YOU can get sober. It doesn't just happen. You DO need a plan - a concrete plan for getting sober. If you fail, you need to revise the plan - and again each time you fail - until you find a plan that works for you.

2. My sobriety began with a simple, but critical recognition that I am not like "normal" drinkers. I am unable to drink one or two drinks. I need 8. Or 10. Or 20. Once I figured out my "on/off" switch simply doesn't work, it became easier to accept that I must stop drinking altogether. It is so blatantly obvious. It is the only conclusion that makes any sense. Consider whether you may be the same as me in that respect.