Notices

Will, powerlessness and turning your life over

Old 07-05-2014, 11:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Will, powerlessness and turning your life over

Temporary disclaimer, again. I am very new to looking into secular approaches to the 12 steps. Sorry if I say something that you have read repeatedly or is ignorant of something commonly said about secular 12 steps.

I have difficulty thinking about the 12 steps separate from ideas that are not directly about the steps that have been said by people I have met in AA and what I have read in AA literature.

There is practical value in the western christian religious experience. The idea of a church serves a useful social function. It seems to me that it would be a good idea to separate out the beneficial aspects of that experience from the religion part.

The benefit that people get from "turning it over" to their higher power is similar to the notion of not placing demands on reality. Some mental anguish comes from demanding that reality conform to one's wishes. For example, I can't stop drinking until reality agrees to give me a job. If I reason that it is not true that the world MUST do as I demand, I am in a sense turning my will and my life over to reality.

The idea of self-will and turning your life over to a higher power have interesting implications, I think. AA uses both the terms "willingness" and "self-will" and then gets confusing saying in "we agnostics" that it would be a good idea to be willing to have enough of an open mind to try having a closed mind and accept that a god's will is the only valid will.

Will power is required to do anything intentionally. But, it is not the only factor. I can agree that acting as if reality can be changed to conform to one's wishes by will power alone is not a good approach. In the same way, laying on the floor waiting for a higher power to fix your life for you is not a good approach. Your will is required.