Notices

heartbroken

Old 07-12-2012, 06:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

heartbroken

I am very new to this and this is my first post. I am not sure that this is the right place to post this, but hopefully its a step in the right direction.

I am the wife of an addict. This is very new & so unfamiliar to me that I am looking for answers everywhere I can. Basically I have been happily married to my husband for 15 years. We had what I thought was the fairytale. We have 4 amazing children, my husband has a wonderful job, we have a beautiful home, etc.... All up until I found a bottle of pills a couple of months back. My husband finally told me that he has been addicted to hydrocodone for 6 years. I couldnt believe it....How could I have never known?!?!?! He said his addiction has never gotten better or worse and that for the whole 6 years he has taken 4-5 10mg vicodin a everyday, which is why he claims I never knew.
Then he drops a second bomb a couple days later and said that he is unhappy in our marrige & he no longer feels a connection to me. This came as a bigger shock then the pills because I felt that we were so happy. Heartbroken I went to the doctor with him and we decided that I would help taper him off of the pills as well as begin marriage counseling. We went through the whole process, but I didnt see a change in him he was just grouchy and unaffectionate. I thought the tapering went great but I found out a couple of weeks later that he was still taking the pills. He is now living with his mom and we hardly see or hear from him. He has been so involved in every part of our family, and now he is almost completely absent. My heart is broken and our children are devestated. I want him to get help so bad but he is so mean and ugly anytime I bring it up that I can no longer talk to him about it at all.
Old 07-12-2012, 08:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)