Notices

Angry & Confused

Old 03-24-2012, 02:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry Angry & Confused

Recently caught my husband using pills again. Thought he had been clean almost a year and a half after going thru a detox program, only to find out he has been using again for atleast the last 8 mths??? (Not sure how I missed this?) When I first learned of the addiction approx 2 yrs ago, I was devastated, along with all the other emotions, but this time around I feel more hopeless. Wondering is this my fate, a life filled with ups and downs, mood swings, and suspicions(he has stolen both times all my jewelry, recently deceased gmas ring, and drained our bank acct., along with him not holding down a steady job in quite some time, I carry all the weight financially)? Then I get angry and think I refuse to live a life like that and my son deserves better. We have a 5 yr old son. My husband has now been clean for past 3 weeks. I try to be supportive, but feel Im so angry Im not good at it. I fear I will drive him back to using. All I read is opiate addiction is so hard to recover from, and that he will always want to use. This scares me soo much. I am 34, want to have another child, but know we are not stable enough for this right now. I really need help drawing some boundaries. I had already told myself the 1st time around, if he ever relapsed, he was out of here. Now I feel that was a harsh judgement and I need to give him the benefit of the doubt and support him through this mess. I have my whole life ahead of me and dont want to wake up one day and realize it is gone.
Old 03-24-2012, 02:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Sunnyside! Sorry you are not here under better circumstances, but that is the way this thing usually goes.

You may want to consider posting over on the Friends & Family forum where you will find people who are going through similar experiences.