Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Drug Addiction > Substance Abuse
Reload this Page >

I just need to talk to someone other than myself.

Notices

Old 12-28-2011, 06:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Grateful to be free

I overdosed in May, and got clean since them. I've been in recovery but had let it slide, then just threw it all away. I've been working hard at it for seven months though.

But life is life. I could go into detail, but it boils down to life is life. And here I am again. Lonely as hell. The holidays just made some hard truths that much clearer.

My boyfriend has thrown the towel in on recovery and that has manifested in all sorts of ugly ways the past few weeks, and has worn my a** and patience thin.

Last night I was really scraping bottom. So lonely, so hopeless. I went out on a walk to keep me out of the house, just crying and so sad. he called and said he was cooking dinner. He was clearly drunk. I was so alone, so I went there, and it was nice to be taken care of, even if all that meant was someone put a hot meal in front of me tha tI didn't have to plan or cook.

And we went to his room, and he was so giggly, bubbly. A nice change from the angry, hopeless mess he's been so often lately, chatting and calling me drunk and morose. He had some pills and offered them to me. This is the same person who had to call EMS to kick my door down when I OD'd, now he is offering me the same poison.

I thought about it. Said no, because I know that's not the answer. The warm meal actually gave me a better feeling inside than I know those pills would have. I mean, I felt good from eating, it didn't make my troubles go away, but it reminded me that "good" still exists. It was a more hopeful act that getting numb.

I stayed the night, though I know sharing a bed with an active addict is stupid, in this case it was smarter than going to a cold dark apt and a cold lonely bed.