Notices

not sure where to start...

Old 12-18-2011, 07:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

not sure where to start...

Kind of just want to get my situation down in writing and put it out there...

I'm in my mid twenties, have been sober for about 8.5 months now. I'm struggling with some pretty heavy depression at the moment, it feels like every morning I wake up and just feel terrible, anxious, feel like my life is falling apart and there's nothing I can do about it. I make myself get up and go about my day, and usually on week days, once I get into the routine of work, I feel better. On days like today, though, Sunday, everything just feels so empty and meaningless.

I graduated from college 3 years ago. At the time, I was seeing a girl with whom I had my first really serious, intense relationship. After college we both moved back to our respective hometowns, but without any real closure as to what was going on between us. I have not been able to let go of this person in my mind, she is like a constant obsession. I have seen her periodically over the past three years and we sleep together and then separate again and I get all attached. I just have not been able to move on from her at all. I know that I should just cut off contact and give myself closure and time to heal and find someone else, but at the same time when I really think about the prospect of losing her forever I go into some kind of panic and usually contact her, or she'll wind up contacting me and the whole cycle of attachment and obsession starts again.