Notices

Dementia/alzhiemers and related

Old 04-28-2011, 01:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Dementia/alzhiemers and related

Does anyone have any experience of broaching this subject with their parents who may be suffering?

I've known something wasn't quite right with my dad for a while, but possibly put it down to grief. After spending a weekend away with my parents and seeing his driving from the car behind I KNOW it's not just grief!

His driving was abysmal and frightening, he can't remember what he did five minutes ago but has started talking about is childhood a lot there are lots of signs, and I'm no doctor but I've worked with enough poeple with Alzhiemers and dementia to see the signs clearly.

I've been to see our doctor this morning, fortunately my dad and I use the same GP so that made things a little easier.

My GP's hands are tied unless I can convince my dad to make an appointment with him. And the GP said that now I've told him it's on record and I have a legal duty to do all I can to prevent my dad from driving.

I have no idea what to do!

I don't want to alieneate my parents because I know they're both going to need all the help they can get, but if I say something my mother will take it as a slight and stop telling me whats going on. She's done it before, just before Joe came to live with me. She didn't speak to me for months. I don't want that to happen again really, but if it get's my dad the help he needs then I'll risk it as a last resort.

My Doctor gave me the option of a 'plan B' if I cn't get my dad to go in to see him I've to ring his secretary and the doc will try to get him in for a 'review' and run some memory testing then. But that might take a while to arrange.

Any advice, experience or suggestions? I need to get my dad in there, preferably willingly!
Old 04-28-2011, 01:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)