Trust as a trigger

Old 03-17-2011, 09:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Trust as a trigger

When I was a sophomore in college, I was spending an afternoon with my A dad. My dad invited me somewhere with he and his girlfriend. I declined, stating that the last time I went with them I had been yelled at by my mom for "betraying her," followed by a whole string of cuss words. I asked him to keep our conversation in confidence.

A couple weeks later, they were in divorce court settling child support for my youngest brother. My dad said my mom was abusing her children and that he would not pay child support to a mom who was abusive. For the record, she was and is not abusive.

In the end, not only did I get blamed for my dad not paying child support, but I also got blamed for my dad accusing my mom of abuse.

I told a dear friend of mine that I trust him. I'm terrified that trusting him will "backfire" on me. I've never known any different-- my trust in my A dad was broken time after time after time.

I know that my friend is not my A dad. It's not fair to reflect my issues with my dad onto my friend, but it's all that I know. Changing 20 years of "habits" is really difficult. I'm trying, and that's all that I can do.
Old 03-17-2011, 09:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

There's not really a question here. I was just triggered and needed an outlet.
Old 03-21-2011, 10:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think we might have the same mother. My F was not an A though both my parents grew up as ACOA's and my household may as well have been an alcoholic one...

I grew up knowing that if I told my Dad anything about how I felt (bc he was, for me, the better of the 2 parents since I was the one my mother targetted), he'd eventually tell my mother (use what I told him as ammunition against her in a fight). Then I'd never hear the end of it from my mom and was told, like you that I betryayed her etc...