Letter?

Old 02-11-2011, 11:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Letter?

Hi, i'm new to this. My dad is an alcoholic and has been since he got stomach cancer back when I was 4 (I am 19 now). it has been my dad that has brought me up and we are very similar people, which makes it so hard when he drinks. we live on a farm and whenever he drinks someone, usually me, has to take full responsibility for everything. This year i made the resolution that i would talk to my dad and tell how much his drinking hurts and affects me - i have moved away from home now, but i am still tormented by his drinking as i feel so helpless and uselss. My dad and i have never ever had a conversation about his drinking and i am absolutely terrified so iv started writing him a letter which is so much harder than i thought it would be. Has anyone else tried writing it down? Does it make a difference? I always thought that if my dad knew how much he was hurting me he would stop - when he's drunk he seems to think that it makes no difference to my life. I'm terrified that i'll tell him and he'll drink again. Sorry to rant!
Old 02-11-2011, 05:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Has anyone else tried writing it down? Does it make a difference?
It probably won't reach your dad because he is actively drinking, and we drunks (yes, i am recovering) tend to avoid realities like this, and turn to drinking to numb the pain.

Have you tried going to AlAnon, or seeing a therapist?
It is very difficult to be raised by an alcoholic and come out unscathed.
No, there is nothing wrong with you at all.
You are probably the strongest of all your peers.
But this is not your burden to carry.

I have just received the Big Red Book (for Adult Children of Alcoholics) and every page has been a revelation. I am 51 and need to get through all of this.
I have done AA for my alcoholism, and have done some codependent work here and at home, but this has been a watershed for me.

You can do this. Get better.

Beth
Old 02-11-2011, 05:58 PM