Notices

Crisis Mode

Old 10-14-2010, 07:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Crisis Mode

I don't know if I'm supposed to have a Dual Diagnosis in order to post in here. My issues are all related to my own mental illnesses and how they relate with my exbf who is an actively recovering addict. So maybe it's appropriate. Anyway here goes .....

I haven't posted in awhile; I've been really busy with work, support groups and therapy. But I need to vent, ask for support and/or advice, and get some comfort.

I've been doing really well for about 2 months now. I had a breakdown in August when my mood stabilizer just stopped working. I had run out of it and it was taking me forever to get back in to my pdoc to get a refill so I went without for 2 weeks, cold turkey. When I finally got it, I figured 3-5 days it would kick in as it usually did. It never kicked in so I went another 2 weeks continuing to spiral out of control and into a black hole.

I became suicidal and it was all I could do to go to work and make it through the day. One evening, I called my boss (my ex-bf's mom) and told her I needed to go to the hospital to keep from hurting myself. I ended up not going because I didn't want a 72-hour hold put on me, so I took my klonopin (too many but not an overdose) and went to sleep.

Somehow I made it through those weeks and finally got back in to my pdoc for a med adjustment. They put me on Lamictal and it has been a miracle drug for me. I've been happy, stable, level-headed, in a good mood most of the time ... until today. And sometimes I don't know if it's my BPD, Bipolar or if it's just normal sadness about things lost in life.