Notices

I just don't know.

Old 08-25-2010, 04:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I just don't know.

Okay, I'll try to be concise- however I will likely end up rambling as usual. I was diagnosed with Tourette's Syndrome as a child. It was a nightmare- but that's another story. I was a really good student early in life and considered gifted. But later, my math grades plummeted. I struggled for years and years with anything that was not straight up language related. Even now as an adult I cannot deal with arithematic, math, or situations that require critical thinking. I was tested a number of times as a teen and my verbal abilities were, at least into my teens- in the 99th percentile (that's really good). There was a very, very large discrepancy betwen my verbal and non- verbal abilities. This is known as non- verbal learning disorder. This, along with OCD and ADHD are often comorbid conditions with Tourette's. I have been quite upset since I got my tests back from my parents before they moved away (we do not talk, they are/ were horribly abusive). I always knew something was wrong and when my fears were confirmed, I wanted to die. I have always felt like a smart idiot... That apparently is common for this disorder and referred to as "trapped intelligence"... Nobody takes me seriously on this- my therapist basically said in a nice way that I am really smart in one way and just stupid in another. Well that sucks. I can't live with that. The abuse, emotional pain, the fact that I am actually verifiably deficient are too much for me. I hate my life and I know I am a mistake. I get really down about it. Why is my grey matter so messed up? I am paying for it with my life- I will never attain more than menial positions in life, and financial security is pretty much out of the question unless someone wants to sweep an idiot off her feet and take care of her. I have been so used by so many people- naivete and gullibility is a HUGE problem for those with this disorder. I can't say