is he lying?

Old 11-12-2009, 09:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

is he lying?

It may be a stupid question. How can you ever believe something a recovering alcoholic says? Can you ever?

My RAF lives alone up north. He had beer in the house the other day. He took a picture of a trophy he won from a chili contest, and in the picture there was an unopened can next to the trophy, along with his cigarettes and skoal. He insists that it was for cooking. (Some of you are probably shaking your head right now, already knowing that this is a dead end. I am very new to this). When asked about it, he screams that it was for cooking, and to get off his back about it, stop bothering him. But how frustrated do we get, even as non alcoholics, when we tell someone something and they don't believe us? How angry does a "normal" person get when they realize that they aren't trusted, that their word is meaningless? I get pretty frustrated, I know that for a fact. I've raised my voice a few times the same way he did in that situation.