My husband's father is an alcoholic

Old 06-22-2009, 10:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My husband's father is an alcoholic

Hello guys, I am new here but I am sort of depressed and bewildered and I could really use some friendly ears who are familiar with the kinds of issues I am facing.

I got married about ten months ago to a man I had been dating for about five years. We met early in our college careers and he is finishing up his graduate degree. I graduated last spring and am working in that area.

I knew from the start, or at least early on, that his dad was a semi-recovering alcoholic (i.e. sometimes he does somewhat better for a short or long time but then it just all drops again. Also he is bipolar. And creepy.).

So, I guess you can say I should have realized that this affected my husband, but I thought I did realize. But he had been in counseling and he was (and still is) nothing like his father, so, while I knew there would be problems I thought we could work through them.

Our relationship definitely had its storms but we weathered them and I felt we came out of them stronger and I was thrilled to be getting married. I am definitely a romantic and an idealist and no, I didn't think things would be perfect in that we would never fight but I did feel that there were some absolutes I could trust in--that he would never hurt me intentionally, that I could always count on his love for me.

However, over the course of events in the past few months, I have come to realize how much he only mimicked normal human emotions and didn't actually feel them. That, for example, it doesn't hurt him to hurt me (I mean emotionally I am not talking about physical abuse). He regrets my pain but it doesn't really get to him at all so if something he really wants to have or do would really hurt me he does it anyway and then explains how "logical" it was.