I need some help... maybe just perspective :(

Old 11-18-2008, 10:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need some help... maybe just perspective :(

So I have typed out my long (boring ) story here before... it's pretty typical. Mother went through an alcoholic phase, was very mean to me, and then kind of pulled out of the "meanness" but never stopped drinking. I think she drinks now because of the guilt she feels for abusing me.

that's beside the point, though. I moved to the opposite side of the country when I graduated college and have only been back twice. I don't think I even STARTED dealing with the pain I had kept inside until I moved away... I didn't move away with the thought of escaping them... but now that I have left I realize it must have been my subconscious trying to escape. I have a pretty smart subconscious!

SO... you are wondering why I need help? I have encountered a situation recently that it pushing me backwards in terms of coping with my "abuse"

My mother and her husband have not come to visit me once since I moved away. My mom always blamed it on not having vacation and money. So I decided that I would just buy their tickets ($1200!!) so they wouldn't have an excuse anymore. I would like her to see where I live and what I've accomplished, you know?

Well, they took me up on my offer and are coming to visit me in a few weeks. When I asked my mom about things that she would like to do or see while she was out here... I come to find out that her and my step dad decided they were going to stay in San Francisco for a few days... I asked them if they wanted me to come along or if they wanted to be alone... My mom informed me that they wanted to be alone.

I told my boyfriend about this and he was very angry. I paid for their trip out here to see me and they spend half of the time in San Francisco without me? He wants me to ask for my money back but I don't think I can do that.