Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > All About Recovery > What is Recovery?
Reload this Page >

I’m working on healthy shame vs. the weapon of humiliation:

Old 04-30-2008, 02:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Humility tells me that I’m always going to make my fare share of faux-pas. Actually, I’m likely to make more than my fair share… I am an addict after all. For the most part I’m very thankful to those who have gently pulled me aside and privately point out my mistakes by way of sharing their own ESH. Like road rage for example… I can get so focused on being angry at the guy tail-gaiting me that I fail to see how I am guilty of doing the same thing to the car in front of me. I’m a MUCH more serene driver today - thanks in part to someone gently pointing it out to me by sharing their own ESH. From such positive experiences I’ve learned that a healthy sense of shame, exposed in a safe environment, will always motivate me to change for the better.
In contrast; a few days ago at a meeting I was bitterly and publicly humiliated in a very passive aggressive manner when I inappropriately joined in a discussion. After the shock wore off, the immediate response was the formation of a strong resentment towards that person and a powerful fear of not feeling ‘safe’ in the rooms. Humiliation can be a very damaging thing.
That recent experience had me take a deeper look at how humiliation is used as a weapon of defence; what I can do to recognize it in myself; and, how I can diffuse it when I’m at the receiving end. I’ve tried to break humiliation down into its raw forms. As such, I’ve chosen intimidation, brutal honesty, comparison, and passive aggression.

Since I’m still playing with these concepts, I would appreciate the perspective of others here to help me refine my understanding… to grow a little from your ESH.

HOW I HUMILIATE OTHERS:

1) Intimidation: