Notices

Wellibutrin

Old 04-06-2008, 11:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wellibutrin

I'm new to sobriety. I have been diagnosed with Bi-Polar disorder in the past. My Doctor prescribed Wellibutrin for me almost two weeks ago. He said it was to help "stabilize my mood", and help quit smoking.

Not asking for medical advice, but would like to know if this drug is used as a treatment for Alcholism, and if its helped some Alcholics here.
Thanks.
Old 04-06-2008, 12:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I found the big thread on this subject, Mods feel free to delete this one. Sorry.
Old 04-06-2008, 06:35 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
To Life!

Hi, 1is2Many;

Wellbutrin is not a mood stabilizer. It's an antidepressant. Using an antidepressant alone, with bipolar disorder, *can* bring on a manic state. I hope you are on another mood stabilizer too!

It is used often to help quit smoking. But, it can cause aggitation. It caused panic attacks with me. I tolerated them because it did help me quit smoking.

I've never heard of it being used to treat alcoholism. Perhaps others have?

Good luck with your quit. We have a nicotine forum here on SR too! I hope you'll join us there.

Oh, and I replied to this thread, rather than the other one, because 1) there was a context on this one with the bipolar and the alcoholism and 2) the other one was well over a year old!
Hope you don't mind!

Shalom!
Old 04-06-2008, 08:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome!
Old 04-06-2008, 09:01 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

are you on a med called lemectail as well??? I have never heard of wellbuitrin taken alone

good luck
Pamm
Old 04-06-2008, 09:21 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Hmmm..
I am not bi polar and my recovery from alcoholism is long term.
I used no med's for my alcohlism.

However...when I wanted to quit smoking
my doctor perscribed Wellbutrin

The only thing I noticed from Wellbutrin was vivid dreaming.
After a month...I quit taking it.