Notices

Now What?

Old 02-08-2008, 09:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Now What?

Our son is a recently diagnosed bi-polar. He had a major paranoid schizophrenic episode over the Christmas break (he's 20) and was hospitalized 1,000 miles from home.

Since then we've been playing catch up. His meds have been changed 4 times since Dec. 22. We tried to have him return to school with a much reduced load, 12 hours of very easy courses.

This week he's thrown in the towel on school. We've brought him home. We've made appointments for more detailed evaluations. He's unable to do his school work. He's unable to work a job. He can't focus. He can't organize. You get the idea.

But he can muster the faculties to form an argument to convince his Dad buy him a new game system to "help" him get through this. So now he's playing video games. From where I sit this has been all he's wanted to do for the last 10 years and now he's gotten a green light from the "medical community".

I'm new to all this. I get that he doesn't feel like doing anything, but I can't believe that letting him veg out in front of a tv until the Dr.'s find the right combo of meds is really a good idea? Any thoughts?
Old 02-09-2008, 12:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To Life!

I don't think that he should veg out for unlimited hours playing games.
He should be required to do what he's capable of doing. But, I cannot determine what that is. An illness, mental or physical, is not an excuse for sloth.

I would discuss this with the doctors and come to an agreement about what he can and cannot do. He will have to care for himself one day. Enabling him will not help him.

Wishing you all the best. I know this is difficult.

Shalom!
Old 02-09-2008, 12:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
same planet...different world

Hi Easeful, welcome to SR ...

The only thing that comes to mind is - be careful of being dragged into the 'good cop - bad cop' scenario in differening with what your husband has chosen to provide your son.