Notices

Zyprexa?? and Weight?

Old 08-15-2007, 11:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
*~10 YEARS BABY~*

Question Zyprexa?? and Weight?

My doctor just switched my meds to this. So far I have not read one good thing anywhere, anyplace, from anyone.

Anyone have any luck with this

and anyone "NOT" gain any weight, if he would have told me that I would have told him no in his office.
I will not be taking any weight gaining meds, and that's all I've read so far on this.

Arghh, I'm so frustrated.....
Old 08-16-2007, 04:28 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To Life!

Hi, Done;

I've no experience with Zyprexa, but, if it's an SSRI, they are pretty much known for weight gain.
Welbutrin is an anti-depressant that doesn't cause weight gain. But, it can cause anxiety. With me, it caused panic attacks.
I wish you luck. Tell your doc up front that you won't take anything known to cause weight gain. It will eliminate alot of going back and forth; expense; and frustration on both your parts.

Shalom!
Old 08-16-2007, 07:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Its_me_jen

I took zyprexa for a very short time. I don't think I took it long enough to see any weight gain. I have read the same things as you've found.

One site I like is crazymeds.com.

Just remember -- everyone reacts differently to meds. May be you should give it a try and if it doesn't work out then go back to the doc and try something else. Interestingly enough (and I know you're not on it any more) but I actually lost weight when I got on Effexor.

hugs to you!
Old 08-16-2007, 08:12 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
*~10 YEARS BABY~*

Thanks to both of you.

Teach he knows all about my weight gain issues, that's why I can't believe he put me on this and still didn't bother to mention the weight part

Doll, I would rather die than gain a lot weight, I can't handle it, and I'd be back on meth so fast, so I won't be trying this one, no wayyyy.

I am going to call my doctor, just be glad you don't have to deal with me today,