Notices

Neurontin, Lithium, Lexapro

Old 11-21-2006, 06:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Exclamation Neurontin, Lithium, Lexapro

I am bipolar and was in a detox prog for abusing prescrip drugs, anyway, i take neurontin 400mg 4 times a day for nerve pain, plus other reasons im sure, and i take lithium 3x a day, and i take lexapro 1x a day......any thoughts experiences or advice on it?
Old 11-21-2006, 08:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Wii
A SeaBird Living LandLocked

Oh Dear Lord. I'm sorry to hear that.
Old 11-22-2006, 03:30 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I have no opinions or experiences apart from thinking: wow that's a lot of meds.

Marte
Old 11-22-2006, 03:46 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am bipolar too, and my friends, that is NOT a lot of meds. Lexapro has been a godsend to me (I take 40 mg.) Lithium, not so much. I gained a lot of weight on it, tried depakote, hated it. There is a new mood stabilizer out there called lamictal (sp?) and it too, has been a godsend. As far as the neurontin goes, I don't use it, but a friend of mine who fell on the ice last year was on vicoden and it didn't work, so they switched her to that and the results were dramatic.

I know this is an addiction forum, but for a disorder such as bipolar disorder, meds are a necessary evil. Diabetics need insulin, Bipolar sufferers need mood stablilizers.

Good luck! Hope I helped.
Old 11-22-2006, 03:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

P.S. The lamictil has NO side effects and you only take it once a day
Old 11-22-2006, 04:20 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Alcohol is a cruel mistress!!!

Lamictial and effexor work great for me, its nice to only have to take meds once a day.
Old 11-22-2006, 04:26 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
To Life!

Listen to your body. Share that information with your doctor.
Do what's right for you.

Shalom!
Old 11-22-2006, 06:34 AM
  # 8 (permalink)