Notices

Need Info on Effexor...Please

Old 11-09-2006, 03:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Smile Need Info on Effexor...Please

Im a newbie here, but have posted in substance absuse forum. Anyway, my doc put me on effexor 37.5 mg once a day. it says that it takes four to six weeks to take effect.....can it happen sooner?? Considering this is my 7th day of going thru opiate wd's I feel wonderful loopy, like when i stand up or something. Anyway dont mean to babble but if anyone has any experience with this med, please post. Thanks so much in advance

Kooer
Old 11-09-2006, 05:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To Life!

I do not have any experience with this particular anti depresant. Others who do will come along later.
http://www.webmd.com/search/search_r...?query=effexor
This should help.

Shalom!
Old 11-21-2006, 12:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
A picture's worth a 1000 words

if you're still around...let me know and i will give you links to several threads about Effexer where others have shared their thoughts and experiences....
Old 11-21-2006, 12:17 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Location: Scottsdale, AZ, one big happy dysfunctional family!
Hi Kooer,

I'm new to SR so missed this thread initially. I started taking Effexor XR in May of 2005, and tapered off it a couple months ago.

Yes, it's possible it'll work sooner, but in my case it took even longer. Every person will react differently. I completely understand that loopy feeling, and for me it was months before that went away. I also experienced something that felt like "cobwebs in the brain", a foggy or disconnected feeling.

Try reading other people's experiences on websites, but keep in mind that every person reacts to medications like Effexor in their own way, so don't be scared off by negative experiences, and try not to expect miracles either.