Notices

Could use some words of encouragement.

Old 09-10-2006, 03:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Could use some words of encouragement.

Hey all,

It has been a long long time since I posted here although I still would check in from time to time. I have had a terrible weekend and could use some words of encouragement. I am a 42 year old professional. I think I have had always had issues with anxiety. I just learned today there was a name for the porbelms I had in high school, "school refusal". For the most part I have been successful in life, but have had periodic bouts with anxiety and depression.

Not recognizing the pitfalls I tried to self medicate with alcohol. Before this became a contributing problem I became mostly abstinent. The problem is although I realize I could not self-medicate myself any more I never sought treatment for anxiety or depression.

This year has been one of those years. My Mom died in January, negotiating an Estate settlementbetween family, I moved, am planning a wedding, got a prmotion, etc. Enough stressors that lately I have been feeling very anxious. I had an episode in public where I almost fainted. The paramedics were called and they said it was my blood sugar. They tested at 21 although I have been told it is impossible for it to be that low. Long story short, I have been continuing to have issues with my blood sugar which I think now may be anxiety.

By Thursday of last week I had had enough and decided to have a drink. It was a choice I know, but was not very smart. This set off initially what I thought was my blood sugar and and I ended up having to call in to work to take a PTO day. Here is where the real anxiety started. I have a wedding/honeymoon scheduled in Oct and I need all of my PTO. I called my boss and asked to be allowed to make it up. He said he would talk to our Director and call me back, which he never did.