Notices

Burn out

Old 07-17-2017, 06:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Burn out

Hello SR. I hope whoever is reading this is well.

I have a question about making huge changes in early recovery and how to deal with the consequences of bad decisions. I'm also wondering how alcoholics quit beating themselves up and learn how to learn from their mistakes.

I picked up my two year sobriety chip on June 15. I did not realize how serious my alcohol problem was until I had a little bit of time to myself to reflect on my past behavior. My drinking history scares me, and I am learning, through therapy and step work, how to discipline my mind and my emotions.

I entered AA and therapy when I was in graduate school. I was sober for nine months and relapsed. I was sober again for nine months and relapsed.

I earned my graduate degree and 11 days later began law school. I graduated from law school two months ago. Right now I have been studying for the bar but I am out of gas. I'm exhausted. My family tells me to grow up and quit whining.

I want to be honest with myself--I am out of energy and drive. I am posting to ask how did you learn to be honest with yourself about your limits. I'm also moving in 15 days so all of my stuff is in boxes and I feel completely terrified all the time.

Do I sound like a weak person who should just man up? Wouldn't someone be tired after five straight years of graduate study while also recovering from alcoholism?

I know that I need to be honest with people instead of pretending I am ok. I'm more proud of being two years sober than anything else. Gaining long-term sobriety is the most difficult thing I have ever done in my life.

Graduate school and law school made me feel bad about myself. I felt dumb, ashamed for being an alcoholic, and empty.

I just need a break, I guess. My mind is worn out.
Old 07-17-2017, 06:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Originally Posted by Acheleus View Post