Notices

Coming up on two years sober

Old 04-26-2017, 10:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Coming up on two years sober

Hello. I am going to be two years sober on June 15th and I am feeling a little strange. Today I had my last law school class and I took a final exam yesterday. Tomorrow I have to take another exam and write a paper on nursing home abuse. Next week I have two exams and a document file to submit.

I called my sponsor today but I think he was busy working and could not talk. Instead of going to a meeting I studied.

I am noticing things in my past that were unclear to me when I was drunk. Why does this happen? Why does sobriety open old wounds that never healed while we drank?

I am reaching out because I am tired and I am realizing that I have been a pretty selfish person. It hurts to see how messed up I was when I drank all the time. The bar exam is in July but all I want is a break from the fear and anxiety associated with school.

I will return to my studies. I always get on the pity pot and I want to stop beating myself up for the mistakes I made in the past. I'm 31 and I feel like I have so much growing up to do. It also saddens me that I drank alcoholically for so long.

I feel like I am becoming a man but it is painful. The last year has been a struggle but I am keeping my head down and trudging forward.

Maybe this is just a lack of sleep post made by a burned out person in recovery.
Old 04-26-2017, 11:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Old 04-26-2017, 11:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Do your best

Well from here it looks like your doing really well &all the right things - maybe your just tired i get like that a good sleep sorts us out

Congratulations on your upcoming 2 year milestone
Old 04-27-2017, 03:45 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
FBL
non-drinker

First of all, congrats on nearly 2 years sober!