Notices

I just hope this works.

Old 05-04-2015, 05:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I just hope this works.

Today I made an appointment with a doctor for benzo taper. I really hope it works out, I am so scared. I am terrified actually as I have become deathly afraid of doctors. I have had some bad experiences and I had to fill out pages and pages of detailed questions about my mental health etc, and I did not hide that I am an alcoholic for years. I am so scared it will knock me right out of the running for treatment. I want off this s*** so bad.

Anyway many of you brought up the medically supervised thing so here goes... I am so terrified. Just terrified.
Old 05-04-2015, 05:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I have been honest with doctors for heroin addiction being in my past, and them still gave me opiates for pain, so don't think that is automatically will disqualify you for the treatment. I do not see why it would matter being alcohol and benzo's are so different, and you are trying to get off of them.
Old 05-04-2015, 05:30 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Alcohol and benzos are very much the same- they affect your brain in the same way and many refer to benzos as "alcohol in pill form". I was prescribed them for anxiety years ago and they were the best and worst thing that happened to me. I am hoping that he will see I want to stop taking these things forever and proceed to taper me.
Old 05-04-2015, 05:31 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
zjw

sometimes we just gotta move in any direction just to get some momentum. I hope it works if not I hope it leads you to what does.

I've always felt even a sideways step in life can be just what one needs to gain some traction.
Old 05-04-2015, 05:33 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Idk everyone is different, but they affected me in a way different way than alcohol. If you just explain though they still may help you. If not just try to have faith in the doctors decision.
Old 05-04-2015, 05:42 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Forum Leader