Notices

not sure whats happening to me

Old 09-15-2014, 03:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

not sure whats happening to me

Hi

hope someone can help me, ive been abusing alcohol now for about 8 yrs. But recently after a pretty tough year (father being diagnosed with a brain tumour & then sadly passing away in june) I had a panic attack for the 1st time a few weeks ago after a really heavy wkend of drinking, it wasreally scary didnt no what was happening to me, my arms went numb & I couldnt move them had pain in my chest & couldnt breathe, thought that my time was def up. My bf called an ambulance & it was all witnessed by my 14 year old daughter. By the timethe ambulance arrived I was much better nd didnt hav to go to the ER thank god.

anyway today am feeling very panicky again ive been drinking all wkend, not today tho. Im in the house on my own & was eating breakfast when I started feeling really weird, kinda like im not real or im gona pass out I started getting really warm & panicky, I kinda talked myself out of it nd dont feel too bad now, but im scared im gona have a full blown panic attack or worse.

does anyone have any advice how to keep calm nd get through the day. I really needto stop drinking it really isn't fun anymore

Thank you in advance

elisha x
Old 09-15-2014, 03:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb

stop drinking, drink more water
Old 09-15-2014, 03:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome elisha

My anxiety, including panic attacks, definitely got worse the more years I drank. I believed I was so used to alcohol that I would withdraw from it, causing anxiety and panic attacks.

I really think the best thing you could do is to look into getting some help to stop drinking.

The anxiety won't go away immediately but it will almost certainly get better with time and abstinence from alcohol

D
Old 09-15-2014, 03:51 AM
  # 4 (permalink)